Roxanne de Bastion and David Stopps elected as new Performer Board members at PPL APM 2016

Today, at the tenth PPL Annual Performer Meeting (APM) at Rich Mix, Bethnal Green, David Stopps and Roxanne de Bastion were elected by performers to become directors on the PPL Performer Board as well as the main Board.

The APM is for performers registered with PPL, who have received PPL revenue in either of the preceding two financial years (2014 and/or 2015).  This year’s event  included addresses by PPL CEO Peter Leathem and the outgoing Chairman of the PPL Performer Board, Gerald Newson.  Performers were able to vote in the election online.

PPL’s constitution requires that, at each APM, the longest serving Elected Performer Director(s) must step down and an election held.  The incumbent director(s) may stand for re-election but alternative candidates may also be nominated for election. This year, Gerald Newson  was the Elected Performer Director who stepped down as a result of this process, and he stood for re-election.  A further vacancy for an Elected Performer Director arose following changes made to PPL’s constitution last year to create this additional position. 

Overall, five candidates stood in the elections.  The other candidates (all nominated by performers) were producer, Steve Levine, performers, Roxanne de Bastion and Marcus O’Neill, and artist manager, David Stopps).

The meeting also included a presentation of PPL’s Annual Performer Review.  Key financial highlights from 2015 include a 5% uplift on 2014 in PPL’s total licence fee income collected, to £197 million.

Peter Leathem, CEO, PPL commented“We’ve come a long way in ten years, trebling the number of performers that receive equitable remuneration and more than doubling our collections for members to £197m in 2015.  I would like to thank the Performer Board for their ongoing commitment and support and welcome Roxanne and David to their Board positions. I look forward to working with them and building on the progress that has been made.”