Industry Insight: The AIM Awards 2014

Last week (2 September 2014), the Association of Independent Music (AIM) held what has become one of the most talked about ceremonies in the UK music calendar - the AIM Awards. As close partners, we explore the dedicated music body and look back at the main event.

The UK's independent music sector is responsible for discovering and developing a huge number of critically acclaimed musicians – from international sensations to home-grown UK talent.

Established in 1999, AIM now represents over 90% of the independent music market in the UK. Their membership includes over 850 independent companies - from large labels to small start-ups, individual artists self-releasing, and also publishers, managers, studio owners, and producers.  

AIM strives to create a fair commercial environment in which independent music companies can grow, grasp new opportunities and break into new markets. They lobby at government level across the UK, EU, and throughout the music industry and offer services such as personal loans, assistance with commercial negotiation, guidance on international markets, access to media contacts, expert mentorship and a vast amount more.

Working together as partners, PPL and AIM share the same ethos: to ensure that those who invest their time, money, and talent in creating music, are fairly rewarded for their work.

Alison Wenham, CEO, AIM said: “AIM and PPL have worked together since the very first days of AIM so that members understand the importance of PPL, ensuring that companies register their repertoire correctly and sign the necessary mandates. Now, there is simply no reason why independents shouldn’t receive full value for the use of their copyrights in public performance and broadcast; in the UK and abroad.”

PPL were proud sponsors of the AIM Independent Music Awards. Now in their fourth year, the Awards celebrate fresh new talent and also time-honoured luminaries who have made significant contributions to the indie sector – such as this year’s Pioneer Award winner Martin Mills of Beggars Group – who features in our 80th anniversary video about the importance of performance rights.

Alison Wenham commented: “Sponsoring the AIM Awards is a welcome gesture from PPL to help us to spread the word about the work they do to maximise the value of our copyrights.”

PPL’s Head of Member Services Amanda Carmichael commented: “PPL values all its members, with independent music labels making up a large number of our recording rightsholder membership. It’s only right that we continue to support all of the initiatives of such a passionate support platform so that the UK independent music sector can continue to thrive.”

The PPL Award for Most Played New Independent Act was announced on the night; with electro pop trio London Grammar taking home the trophy – pictured below with PPL CEO Peter Leathem.

London Grammar w/Peter Leathem

PPL were behind-the-scenes at the AIM Awards; search #PPLInsider on Twitter for an action recap, and for more industry insights - make sure to follow @PPLUK.

For highlights from the 2014 AIM Awards including interviews with the winners and on stage footage watch this video:

For more information on AIM, visit: full list of AIM Award 2014 winners are as follows:

Best Live Act (in association with Songkick): Sophie Ellis-Bextor

Independent Breakthrough of The Year (sponsored by 7digital): London Grammar

Hardest Working Band or Artist (in association with Jack Daniel’s): Ghetts

Best ‘Difficult’ Second Album (in association with Xfm): Ben Watt - Hendra

Independent Album of The Year (sponsored by MixRadio): Arctic Monkeys - AM

Best Small Label (sponsored by Disc Manufacturing Services): Hyperdub

PPL Award For Most Played New Independent Act: London Grammar

Special Catalogue Release of The Year (in association with Amazon Music): Various - Purple Snow: Forecasting The Minneapolis Sound

Independent Label of The Year (sponsored by Believe Digital): Domino

Independent Track of The Year (sponsored by Spotify): Twin Atlantic - Heart & Soul

Independent Video of The Year (sponsored by VEVO): Dan Le Sac vs Scroobius Pip - You Will See Me

Indie Champion Award (sponsored by CI): John Doran, The Quietus

Golden Welly Award for Best Independent Festival (in association with AIF and DIY): Barn on the Farm

Special Recognition Award: Alison Wenham, AIM Chairman and CEO

Outstanding Contribution to Music (sponsored by eMusic): Richie Hawtin

Pioneer Award: Martin Mills, Beggars Group

Innovator Award (sponsored by The Orchard): Steve Goodman aka Kode9 of Hyperdub Records