Nominations for 2012 Parliamentary Jazz Awards announced

The nominations have today been announced for the 2012 Parliamentary Jazz Awards, now Britain’s premier awards for the jazz loving public and jazz fans in both Houses.

Paul Gambaccini returns to host the ceremony, now in its eighth year, which is organised by the All Party Parliamentary Jazz Appreciation Group (APPJAG). This year, back by popular demand, we have a special guest performance by James Pearson and The Ronnie Scott's All Stars.

The awards are sponsored by music licensing company PPL and Jazz Services and feature nine categories, Jazz Musician of the Year, Jazz Album of the Year, Jazz Ensemble of the Year, Live Jazz Award, Jazz Journalist of the Year, Jazz Broadcaster of the Year, Jazz Publication of the Year, Jazz Education Award, and the Services to Jazz Award.

The winners will be announced at the awards which will take place at the House of Commons, Terrace Pavilion on 16 May.

A record 1,864 members of the public sent online entries for the Awards via the Jazz Services website. The shortlist was then voted upon by the Selection Panel who represent a broad cross-section of backgrounds united in their endeavour for their love and knowledge of jazz. The winners are chosen by judging members of the All Party Parliamentary Jazz Appreciation Group in Parliament.

The full list of nominees is:

Jazz Musician of the Year
Bobby Wellins
Jim Mullen
Shabaka Hutchings

Jazz Album of the Year
Liane Carroll 'Up and Down'
McCormack & Yarde Duo 'Places Other Spaces'
Phil Robson 'The Immeasurable Code'
The Impossible Gentlemen 'The Impossible Gentlemen'

Jazz Ensemble of the Year
Beats & Pieces Big Band
Kate Williams Septet
Scottish National Jazz Orchestra

Live Jazz Award of the Year
Jazzlines, Birmingham
Scarborough Jazz Festival
The Spin, Oxford

Jazz Journalist of the Year
Jon Newey
Rob Adams
Stephen Graham

Jazz Broadcaster of the Year
Jamie Cullum
Kevin LeGendre
Mike Chadwick

Jazz Publication of the Year
Jazz UK
London Jazz Blogspot

Jazz Education Award
Abram Wilson
Gary Crosby OBE
Paula Gardiner
Pete Churchill

Services to Jazz Award
Bill Kyle
John Cumming
Mike Westbrook

"We at PPL are delighted to continue our long standing relationship with APPJAG and to be the main sponsor of these Awards. I would like to extend my personal thanks and appreciation to Michael Connarty MP and to Lord Colwyn for doing such a fantastic job in co-chairing and running APPJAG. I would also like to thank all the judges for their time and Paul Gambaccini for being such a unique and virtuoso host of the event," said Fran Nevrkla, Chairman, PPL. "These Jazz Awards remain a special night for Parliament, the jazz community and award recipients as well as for PPL and the music industry generally."

Michael Connarty MP, Co-Chair of APPJAG, said, "These shortlists show the fantastic strength of British jazz at the moment and it will be a difficult job for MPs and Peers to choose the winners."

The APPJAG currently has 100 members from the House of Commons and House of Lords across all political parties. Their aim is to encourage wider and deeper enjoyment of jazz, to increase Parliamentarians' understanding of the jazz industry and issues surrounding it, to promote jazz as a musical form and to raise its profile inside and outside Parliament. The Group's officers are Co-Chairs Michael Connarty MP and Lord Colwyn, Baroness Coussins and Treasurer Kelvin Hopkins MP.